My Morning Jacket Release Deluxe Reissue of ‘It Still Moves’ Today

My Morning Jacket Release
It Still Moves (Deluxe Reissue) Today

Includes 13 Previously Unreleased B-Sides and Demos
Watch the Album Trailer Here

Playing 2 Sold Out Shows at Red Rocks Amphitheater
This Weekend

“The enhanced audio remixing/remastering makes this already milestone, if not quite career defining, work even better.” American Songwriter

“It Still Moves remains a crucial entry in MMJ’s story, and one of their finest releases. Chances are, most fans didn’t need a reason to revisit it, but it’s worth doing all the same” Stereogum

Today My Morning Jacket have released a deluxe reissue of It Still Moves (ATO). Completely remixed by Kevin Ratterman with Jim James and remastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, the album is available digitally, on 4 x LP 180 gram vinyl, and in a 2 CD set. The deluxe version includes frontman Jim James’ ten original demos plus three previously unreleased tracks from the original sessions with new artwork and exclusive photos. It Still Moves still stands as one of the band’s most pivotal releases, but there is an increased strength and clarity to it now.

In addition to pillars of My Morning Jacket’s catalog such as “One Big Holiday” and “Golden”, the reissue is accompanied by James’ original acoustic demos of It Still Moves.This is how James still writes, getting down to the core snapshot of an idea before bringing it to the band to rework with their titanic sound.

Watch the Album Trailer:

As a young band engrossed in an extensive touring schedule, Jim James always felt the album was left somewhat unfinished. When ATO approached James with the idea of reissuing the album as part of the label’s fifteenth anniversary, he took the opportunity to dig back in.

In 2003 It Still Moves both expanded the band’s early style outward as far as it could go, while also grounding it. After it’s release, My Morning Jacket reconfigured themselves, with James and the unstoppable rhythm section of bassist Tom Blankenship and drummer Patrick Hallahan now joined by keyboardist Bo Koster and guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Carl Broemel. They had perfected a version of themselves, and the only way forward was to dream it up again in some new form. Everything would shift for My Morning Jacket after It Still Moves. As the conclusion to their initial trilogy of albums, it remains one of their most essential releases.

My Morning Jacket are wrapping up a nationwide tour this weekend with two sold out shows at the legendary Red Rocks Amphitheater.

You can buy the album on
Amazon * iTunes * My Morning Jacket Store

Track List
Original Album:
1. Mahgeetah
2. Dancefloors
3. Golden
4. Masterplan
5. One Big Boliday
6. I Will Sing You Songs
7. Easy Morning Rebel
8. Run Thru
9. Rollin Back
10. Just One Thing
11. Steam Engine
12. One In The Same

Bonus Material:
13. En La Ceremony
14. Grab A Body
15. That’s Too Bad
16. Mahgeetah (Demo)
17. Dancefloors (Demo)
18. Golden (Demo)
19. Masterplan (Demo)
20. I Will Sing You Songs (Demo)
21. Easy Morning Rebel (Demo)
22. Run Thru (Demo)
23. Rollin Back (Demo)
24. Steam Engine (Demo)
25. One In The Same (Demo)

Tour Dates
5/28 – Morrison, CO at Red Rocks Amphitheater ^
5/29 – Morrison, CO at Red Rocks Amphitheater *
8/25-28 – Arrington, VA at Lock’n Festival
10/28-30 – Live Oak, FL at Suwannee Hulaween

* w/ The Barr Brothers
^ w/ The Fruit Bats

Official Website

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s