Kathleen Hanna’s ‘The Punk Singer Soundtrack’ + Bikini Kill ‘RGSN’ Out Now!

Bikini Kill Records

The Punk Singer Soundtrack Released Today
Featuring Renowned Riot Grrrl Projects:
Bikini Kill, Le Tigre & The Julie Ruin

Revolution Girl Style Now Reissue
Featuring 3 Unreleased Songs Out Now

Originally released as a documentary in 2013, The Punk Singer explores the life and career of feminist punk pioneer, Kathleen Hanna. Today, Bikini Kill Records present the digital-only release of The Punk Singer Soundtrack which features tracks from three of the renowned riot grrrl’s musical projects: Bikini Kill, Le Tigre, and The Julie Ruin.

Legendary riot grrrl band Bikini Kill reissued their first collection of work Revolution Girl Style Now via Bikini Kill Records last month. The reissue features three previously unreleased songs — “Playground”, “Ocean Song+ “Just Once” – and marks the first time Revolution Girl Style Now is available on vinyl, CD, and digital formats. The Revolution Girl Style Now demo tape was originally self-released in May of 1991. The demo was recorded by Pat Maley at the ABC House in Olympia, WA earlier that year. Bikini Kill played one of their first shows at the house the night before and left their equipment set up to record the demo the next day. For this reissue, the songs were mixed by Guy Picciotto (Fugazi) and mastered by John Golden.

Photo Credit: Allison Wolfe

The Punk Singer Soundtrack Track listing:

1. Double Dare Ya – Bikini Kill
2. Feels Blind – Bikini Kill
3. New Radio – Bikini Kill
4. Rebel Girl – Bikini Kill
5. Demirep – Bikini Kill
6. Carnival – Bikini Kill
7. Magnet – Bikini Kill
8. Distinct Complicity – Bikini Kill
9. Reject All American – Bikini Kill
10. Aerobicide – The Julie Ruin
11. Stay Monkey – The Julie Ruin
12. Hot Topic – Le Tigre
13. Keep On Livin’ – Le Tigre
14. Eau D’Bedroom Dancing – Le Tigre
15. Deceptacon – Le Tigre
16. Run Fast – The Julie Ruin
17. Blueberry Island – The Julie Ruin
18. Ha Ha Ha Armageddon – The Julie Ruin
19. My Morning Is Summer – The Julie Ruin

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s