Chile’s MAFF Release 1st single + Video From Debut EP

Chile’s four-piece MAFF release first video single from eponymous debut’ EP
LEAD TRACKS: Linger Around, Walking On Fire, You, Million Year Picnic, Blue Seas, Someday

“Maff are something like Santiago’s answer to Weekend, while the band keeps their sound-sites set on the bold chord pop found on much of the SideOneDummy roster. Santiago will forever have our ears fixated” –Impose Magazine

“Where shoegaze meets grunge, but with wavelengths of beaming positivityThe Record Stache

“Pretty damn impressive. Thunderous, euphoric and yet dream-like… a glorious aural assault” – Overblown Magazine

“There is something hypnotic about this EP, with its twisting guitar and synth lines, like a labyrinth that is in constant movement, just when you’ve found your way, it becomes blocked by wall of guitars or a fog of synths” – This Year in Music

After releasing their debut 8-track EP two weeks ago, Santiago’s Maff continue to blaze a marked trail through the world of shoegaze, alternative rock, noise pop and grunge-tainted indie rock laced with electronica. Now the quartet are pleased to present their first single and debut video from this album for ‘Act 1’, a dark brooding instrumental piece that strikingly differs from Maff’s other songs, but eases the listener in before having to jump into the mosh pit for the rest of the EP.

Maff is virtually the only Chilean band ever to have caught the attention of Creation Records’ Joe Foster, well renowned for his knack for identifying great artists and trends, who says “Maff’s music shows the worldwide spread of this particular style of very non rock electric guitar music. A whole world exists in which these guys excel. Love em”.

Maff, whose main influences include The Jesus and Mary Chain, The Pixies, Ride, Sonic Youth, and My Bloody Valentine, is clearly having a beautifully combined love affair with guitar pedals and synth, arousing sensations ranging from revolution-bent to melancholic and even romantic at times.

The video accompanying this first single, now premiering in Overblown Magazine, was created by Pennsylviania filmmaker Tim Busko, who explains, “Some of the footage for ‘Act 1’ was cannibalized from my experimental film ‘Space Thing’ (2004); the remainder was pulled from aborted projects and experiments. While editing, it reminded me of the fragmented nature of dreams and old memories”.

“After 15 years of personally searching and making music, each band member came to encounter an inflexion point in their lives called Maff,” says Richi Gómez, founding member of Maff. “Maff is about serving music that liberates us from all our prior misconceptions,” explains bandmate Talo Correa.

Although a young band, their sound has made its way into some notable ears. Upon hearing them, celebrated dreampop duo Ummagma embraced their music and even created a radio edit for ‘Walking on Fire’, which is premiering on The Record Stache. “It’s rare that music this good from as far away as Santiago, for instance, finds a place among your faves, but that is exactly what has happened here. This warms your skin and gives you goosebumps,” explains Ummagma.

Maff was originally founded in 2012 by Ricardo (Richi) Gómez (Vocals / Bass / Guitar) & Nicolás (Nek) Colombres (Drums), who have been friends since childhood and have previously played together in various punk rock bands. They were later joined by Martín Colombres (Guitar) and Gonzalo (Talo) Correa (Guitar / Bass / Vocals / Synth). Maff composed, recorded and produced this EP in their own studio, lovingly called ‘The Lab’ owing to the experimental output they concocted there. This album explores such themes as innocence, mystycism, true love, loss, drugs, freedom and timelessness.

The Maff EP is available for pre-order on Bandcamp both digitally and on CD. The band’s official CD release party took place on July 18 at Santiago’s MIBAR (Av. Santa Isabel 0350 – Barrio Italia), to be followed by a second celebration at the same location on August 18.

“Magical and ethereal. A shower of electric noises that echo out into the swirling space that is song. Reminds me of early Flaming Lips and Yo La Tengo with more shoegaze tendencies – The Equal Ground
“Maff bring something new and refreshing to the musical scene, despite the fact that they are based as far as you can get from its “hub”, but that is perhaps why their music can be so noticeably rooted in positive atmosphere” – Jammerzine
“Our flavour of the month, immersed in post-punk echoes” – The Blog That Celebrates Itself

Listen and Watch:
Act 1 video:
1. Act 1 03:30
2. Linger Around 02:54
3. Walking On Fire 04:57
4. Million Year Picnic 04:33
5. Someday 06:13
6. You 05:06
7. Planet Wave 03:10
8. Blue Seas 04:00
9. Walking On Fire (Radio Edit) 03:20
Keep up with Maff 

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s