Australian singer, songwriter Ben Lee has confirmed a U.S. tour to coincide with the release if his Warner Bros. Records debut album, Love Is the Great Rebellion, which will be released on June 2nd in the U.S. click here to pre-order. The first single from the album,“Big Love,” was released on 7″ vinyl on Records Store Day. Click here now to listen! Love Is The Great Rebellion finds the Sydney, Australia, native returning to his roots reminiscent of his 2005 album Awake Is The New Sleep, which went double-platinum in Australia and spawned the hit “Catch My Disease.”  Lee re-teamed with Awake‘s producer Brad Wood to record Love Is The Great Rebellion (Liz Phair, Veruca Salt), who Lee has worked with extensively over the course of his nine solo albums, including 1995’s Grandpaw Would, 1997’s Something to Remember Me By, and 2009’s The Rebirth of Venus.

Ben Lee first gained prominence in the US at the ripe old age of 14 years, when his self-recorded / DIY single “I Wish I Was Him” with band Noise Addict caught the attention of Sonic Youth’s Thurston Moore and the Beastie Boys’ Mike D. Moore’s Ecstatic Peace! imprint issued  Noise Addict’s 10″ vinyl EP, Def in 1993. In 1995, the Beasties fledgling label Grand Royalfollowed with the release of their Young & Jaded EP. 

According to Lee, “Victory” sum up the spirit of the self-reflective Love Is The Great Rebellion. “It is an album about mistakes, about looking at our past errors clearly and soberly,” he says. “But is also an album about rectification, about the correction of those mistakes, and the undeniable spring of hope that is available to each of us in the form of fresh starts and new beginnings.”

Lee describes the single “Big Love” as his “ukulele techno song.” “I went my 10-year-old niece’s birthday party and saw all these kid dancing to these upbeat club bangers,” he recalls. “I thought it’d be great to take some of that energy, the sensual rush of electronic music, which is something I’d always been interested in, and meld it with something more philosophical and emotional. The song was inspired by the fact that, for so much of my life, I’d looked outside of myself for answers, and the key experience for me before making this album was beginning to have some semblance of understanding that whatever truth there was could be found inside. So ‘Big Love’ is just a fun tribute to the inspiration that can be found within each of our human hearts.”

As previously mention, Lee has also just self-released A Mix Tape From Ben Lee, which is available for download here. Fourteen years in the making, the Mixtape features vocal contributions from Zooey Deschanel,Ben Folds, Azure Ray, Sean Lennon, Neil Finn, and others. The Mixtape recordings are available on a “donate what you want” basis, beginning at $1, with all proceeds going to the Q’Ero Project, which supports the basic needs and development of the Q’ero people of Peru.

Don’t miss Ben Lee live this spring and summer:

May 7              The Great Hall                             Toronto, ON, CAN

May 8              Garrison                                       Toronto, ON, CAN

June 27           World Café Live – Downstairs      Philadelphia, PA

June 28           The Hamilton                               Washington, DC

June 29           Rams Head On Stage                  Annapolis, MD

June 30           The Sinclair                                  Cambridge, MA

July 1               City Winery                                  New York, NY

July 3               The Ark                                        Ann Arbor, MI

July 5               SPACE                                         Evanston, IL

July 6               Cedar Cultural Center                  Minneapolis, MN

July 8               Rio Theatre                                  Vancouver, BC, CAN

July 9               Alberta Rose Theatre                   Portland, OR

July 10             Triple Door                                   Seattle, WA

July 13             The Chapel                                  San Francisco, CA

July 17             Troubadour                                   Los Angeles, CA

The track-listing for Love Is The Great Rebellion is as follows:

  1. Giving Up On Miracles
  2. Goodbye To Yesterday
  3. Forgiveness
  4. Big Love
  5.  Happiness
  6. I’m Changing My Mind
  7. The Body Of Love
  8. Everybody Dies
  9. Everything Is OK
  10. Victory
  11. The Universe Inside
  12. Don’t Let The Fire Die
  13. God Is A Fire

Official Ben Lee:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s